The Judge Speaks: The Farewell Tour | The Boneyard

The Judge Speaks: The Farewell Tour

Reaction Score
Have no fear, Yarders. The Judge and his trusty Hangman Swami ride for you one final time. Like the heroes of the wild, wild West and their tails of yore, when our beloved townsfolk needed us? We again have answered your call to arms.

I have been serving as your beloved Judge since 1999 when I first shoved through bogus charges, held a meaningless trial and hung “The Dukie 5” en route to our first National Championship. And from there? To quote our resident hippy A-Dub, “what a long, strange trip it’s been”. We have eaten wings, worshipped a set of hairy Brazilian testicles and gotten drunk on tiger blood. They were the best of days.

When I sat back in the Judge’s Chambers the last couple days, I looked back at the last few weeks and it felt like old times. Metro North cars jammed with UConn fans. U-C-O-N-N chants ringing off the rafters of Madison Storrs Garden. Anticipation for Selection Sunday. And I remembered the Deepster’s #1 Rule of Mojo.

If you think it effects the Mojo, it does.

There will be no one hung. This year or from this point forward. Instead you will use this March and every March that follows it as a testament to storied history of the Boneyard and how we eat buffalo wings, drink Rolling Rocks, post Charlie Sheen references and torture Tom with a never-ending avalanche of (PG-13 rated) Senhor Testiculo memes because that is what makes up our championship DNA. And like Glinda told Dorothy, it's not the shoes. It's if you believe that when you click them? They take you home.

Those things all worked because we believed they did. It was nothing that I ever did otherwise.