Storm the court? | The Boneyard

Storm the court?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
In a little high school twitter battle with a few fans about last night. They were mad that security wouldn't let kids storm the court after the game.

My thoughts, I'm glad they didn't rush. Act like you've been there before, because we have.
We were the higher ranked team...we have won 3 national championships in 15 years. It wasn't against a biter rival. No need to rush.

Thoughts? Should they have rushed?

CTBasketball

Former Owner of the Pizza Thread
Reaction Score
You don't rush the court after beating the #15 team in the country when you're ranked higher. You just don't. Thank God we didn't sink to that level.

Reaction Score
As a student I'm all for it, but as a fan I think its unnecessary for a program of our caliber.

Exceptions can be made though. Definitely no right or wrong answer.

Reaction Score
I think they should have been able to storm the court. I don't care about our history in moments like this or that we were the higher ranked teams. We won on a buzzer beater in a game where Gampel was rocking for the previous 10 minutes. Something like this doesn't happen often and in many students cases it's a once in a lifetime opportunity. Let the students storm the court and enjoy the moment.

UConnSwag11

Storrs, CT The Mecca
Reaction Score
Have 3 NC. The most recent in '11. Plus we're not ND

Reaction Score
Storming the court is a mid-major thing to do. We're not a mid major. Hell I was against storming the court a few years back when we were unranked and we beat #1 Texas, we're just too good a program to pull that crap.

Had the students stormed the court yesterday against a team ranked three spots lower than us WITH injuries, I would've been pretty pissed. It would've made us look bad.

Aside from the tackiness of it, storming the court is pretty dangerous for everyone involved.

Reaction Score