OT Running | The Boneyard

OT Running

Reaction Score
I restarted a very meager running program
53 years old
I’ve been doing walking only for 18 months since I found out I had a condition.
But my doctor is allowing me to go full boat to what I can handle
My workout
2 minutes 4 mph
2 minutes 7.5 mph
Then repeat back to 4-7.5
I do this for 18 minutes
Drop back to 3.5 mph for 30 sec
Then run the last 90 sec at 10 mph comes out to close to even walk / run
I’m completely shot at this point
My goal over the next year is to move for more time at the 7.5 intervals less at the brisk walk and I’m hoping to be able to do 3 minutes by next year to end it. I like the 20 min for me. Not interested in further
Any thoughts or advice on this? Thanks

formerlurker

www.stjude.org
Reaction Score
God bless. I'm 50 and was just telling my nephew that the next time I run there will be a bear very close behind. I honestly can't remember the last time I ran or even walked briskly. I used to enjoy it and then one day I didn't.

Chin Diesel

Power of Love
Reaction Score
Maybe similar situation. Really haven't done anything for 7-8 years now and I wanted to get in to better cardio conditioning. If I lose weight, great, but that's not the goal. Want to get better cardio shape.

Started using treadmill for first time in my life. Still taking a lot of getting used to for running. Walking is easy. Trying to get in to a rhythm for running is still weird. Use a tablet and have been watching a bunch of stuff on You Tube TV while using it.

I'm on a 60 minute time cycle now with 8 minutes walk and 2 minutes run. I'm doing this for one more week and then I'll go to 7 minute walk and 3 minute run. Goal is by end of February to be 60/40 walk/run for 60 minutes 4-5 days a week. Have also been using some free weights and a curl bar to work on some strength work.

HuskyHawk

The triumphant return of the Blues Brothers.
Reaction Score
53 years old
My workout
2 minutes 4 mph
2 minutes 7.5 mph