OT: - Smokers | The Boneyard

OT: Smokers

HuskyHawk

The triumphant return of the Blues Brothers.
Reaction Score
The Turkey thread got me thinking. So, let’s talk smokers. I got a Masterbuilt 3 years ago. It works, but is a bitch to keep clean and has started rusting in places. I think I can get another season out if it but I feel like there should be a better long term solution.

A friend who is a good BBQ guy built a smoker from a oil drum. He loves it. Charcoal fuel. Another friend bought one of those pellet fuel smoker/grill combos. A Traeger. He’s been really happy with it. I have a nice new Weber gas grill so will grill on that, but a Kamado/ Big Green Egg sounds cool. Also interested in ease of cleaning and longevity outdoors in New England.

Any suggestions for the casual smoker? Would like to be able to do jerky too.

TRest

Horrible
Reaction Score
The Turkey thread got me thinking. So, let’s talk smokers. I got a Masterbuilt 3 years ago. It works, but is a bitch to keep clean and has started rusting in places. I think I can get another season out if it but I feel like there should be a better long term solution.

A friend who is a good BBQ guy built a smoker from a oil drum. He loves it. Charcoal fuel. Another friend bought one of those pellet fuel smoker/grill combos. A Traeger. He’s been really happy with it. I have a nice new Weber gas grill so will grill on that, but a Kamado/ Big Green Egg sounds cool. Also interested in ease of cleaning and longevity outdoors in New England.

Any suggestions for the casual smoker? Would like to be able to do jerky too.
I have a Weber Smoky Mountain, which is pretty basic but like all Weber products withstands the outdoors well. I have gone through 2 kettles in 25 years and honestly, the kettle is big enough to smoke some ribs, a pork butt or brisket.

Reaction Score
My advice is to take inventory of:

a) How often you're really going to use it.
b) How many people you will feed.