New Arena Prototype | The Boneyard

New Arena Prototype

Status
Not open for further replies.

CTBasketball

Former Owner of the Pizza Thread
Reaction Score
So in my final days as an engineering college student, I've decided to not do homework and instead create designs for a new UConn basketball arena.

Now, before the XL vs. Gampel fight comes here, all I am asking is what would you want to see the most out of a possible new home for UConn basketball? Like what unique designs in the arena, stadium seating design, outside/facade design, even court design, etc.

I'm experimenting with a 30 day free trial of Sketchup - I tried Solidworks and ProE and they weren't detailed enough for large scale designs like this. I've never used this software before, so this will likely be a rough draft.

Please give me some input and I'll incorporate it into the design. I'll share it when I'm done.

Reaction Score
I would first share a really rough draft of a stadium and then I am able to really picture what I would like in it

jleves

Awesomeness
Reaction Score
15,000 seats with the ability to add a couple thousand easily. Some kind of 'vanity' area to cater to donors away from the floor like a second level loge - keep them happy but get the kids near the court. Great areas for students close to the court. Some way to emphasize the banners. Look at the Phog and make it better.

Reaction Score
Always wanted to see an arena mirror the general look and feel of the old buildings (Boston Garden, old MSG and Chicago Stadium) while having the modern amenities and sight lines of the new places. Im a huge ballpark and arena history buff so this would be really cool.

sammydabiz

I sport NewBalance sneakers to avoid a narrow path
Reaction Score
As far as seating goes.... I always liked the idea of having the students along the sideline, causing ruckus, rather than being stuck behind the basket. Always felt it created more of a home field advantage.

SubbaBub