- Joined
- Nov 14, 2014
- Messages
- 379
- Reaction Score
- 1,695
I just went back and rewatched that possession from the beginning. The ultimate explanation from the announcers was not true. In the original shot clock, Smith missed a layup off the rim and they reset the clock properly. Then Karaban’s shot didn’t hit the rim, but they improperly reset the clock.I am so shocked we got that miracle Smith shot back. What was the rationale?
In my opinion, they handled it incorrectly: it should have been UConn possession on the baseline with about 3 second on the shot clock. The basket should not have counted because it was released after the shot clock would have expired. However, it should not have been a turnover to Illinois because the reality on the floor was a reset shot clock, and the players responded to the live ruling. So, in my opinion, they made the wrong determination to count the basket and also offered a factually untrue explanation for that decision.