Will football actually wind up our downfall re: ACC? | The Boneyard

Will football actually wind up our downfall re: ACC?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
I am not a football fan. I pay very distant and inconsistent attention to the sport at college or pro level. It is the main reason I was and am so pi**ed at all of the upheaval in conference alignments. But that aside, there was an interesting article in the Waterbury Republican-American this morning by Ed Daigneault(the local Horde guy) evaluating UConn and the ACC. Despite the fact that I have a print subscription, their website (which I "should" have unlimited access to) is a pain in the a**. So I will give you the gist of it.

(1.)UConn, according to his sources in the ACC, is the clear frontrunner although
Louisville has gained ground.
(2.)Florida State,Clemson and Georgia Tech have voiced their opposition to UConn based
on our football program, in their opinion, doing nothing to improve the quality of
football in the ACC.
(3.)No decision is likely until after the ACC university presidents meet on December 1st.
(4.)An ACC source said that the league is considering the possibility of inviting
UConn,Louisville and either Cincinnati or South Florida if Florida State and Clemson
leave. But that is far down the list of contingency plans.