What’s your solution? | The Boneyard

What’s your solution?

whaler11

Head Happy Hour Coach
Reaction Score
I start with these assumptions:

1. The AAC won’t allow UConn to stay as FB only (doubt anyone disagrees)

2. Independence and/or FCS football is a non-starter.

I’ve been predicting for a few years that the drop football voices were going to get loud. They got loud faster than I expected. It’s pretty hard to argue against some of their logic. We have argued who to blame a million times so let’s ignore that this time.

If I’m running the show this is what I’m exploring:

1. Approach the MAC with UMass asking to be football only members (I know they kicked UMass out but that was because they were 13 and UMass wouldn’t add basketball)

2. If the MAC is in, approach the Big East on membership for everything they sponsor.

To me this is the best case scenario.

The Big East is 1.7 billion times more attractive as a basketball league to me and I think most of the fanbase.

Keeping football at the FBS level keeps UConn’s ACC powerball ticket alive. It looks bleak but Independent/FCS kills it.

The football fanbase couldn’t be smaller than it is now - the marginal difference to the MAC can’t make it much worse. 14k instead of 17k. How cares? Competing at the top of the any league no matter how mediocre might actually increase interest.

The biggest downside is the horrible schedule the MAC plays. Saturday games end in October.

Some will worry about the academics of the other schools. Candidly, I don’t give a damn. I don’t think it matters at all. Tulane is good, Memphis is not - guess who I’d rather watch play?

Anyway - anyone got a better idea?

I’m football first, but if we don’t get creative we are going to be tailgating with @Butch at the Yale Bowl or Arute.

Separately I’d tear the athletic department to the studs and start over. Marketing, ticketing, presentation. Separate thread for that. It’s like a Martin Luther hang 99 thesis on the charter oak rant.