OT: - USWNT - Who's next? | The Boneyard

OT: USWNT - Who's next?

BRS24

LisaG
Reaction Score
It was hard to refrain from posting some of these thoughts and questions until after the gold medal game, however I thought it best. I'm not an expert on international play, however I understand that after the core of the Olympic team is configured, the bench players are there for specific roles, however, IMHO, there were some that didn't pass my eye test. I'm not looking to relitigate who didn't make the team this year, however I'd love some discussion and debate on who's next.

The big question - who replaces Sue and Diana in the backcourt? Gray was impressive, handled pressure fairly well, and shot the ball well. Lloyd and SDS didn't seem to handle pressure well, and although I get being on the big stage with so much pressure, will they be able to develop that presence? Will more int'l experience give them what they need?

So who's next? Will Paige be seasoned enough in three years? What other guards in the WNBA should be considered for the pool?

For post players, I was incredibly impressed with Griner and Wilson. They are probably the core of post players for the future. Stewie is the "swiss army knife", and can fill the need either inside or outside. Pheesa is young, so a few years of int'l experience could help her develop. No opinion good/bad on Atkins, as I didn't see enough of her play.

oldude

bamboo lover
Reaction Score
Whether Paige is the starting pg in 2024 or the ageless wonder, Sue Bird hangs around for #6, I strongly suspect that Paige will be on that team after completing her senior year at UConn. Just like Stewie in 2016, Paige is the future of USWBB.

Reaction Score