Three to Sell ... not so thinly disguised | The Boneyard

Three to Sell ... not so thinly disguised

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adesmar123

Can you say UConn? I knew you could!
Reaction Score
As has been previously mention here and other places, the Three To See campaign was not just about college basketball. It was an advertising campaign for ESPN ( most obviously) and the WNBA. In the Michelle Voepel podcast posted in another thread she plainly set out that as a goal of the ESPN Three to See. The concept was to draw a thread from the NCAA season and identify the top three players to be drafted into the WNBA. The stated goal was to get fans to connect to the three and then follow them in the WNBA. Again the stated belief was that if you watch NCAA women's basketball you SHOULD be a WNBA fan. Although she acknowledged that doesn't always follow, she implied that it should.

Now I graduated from UConn. I have been a fan of UConn basketball since the 1960's. I love college sports. I have dropped most connections with pro sports a while ago. I am not an NBA, MLB. NFL or other pro sports advocate. I will follow the Three to See in headlines.

I do not appreciate the belief that because I am not a WNBA fanatic, I am not a true women's college basketball fan. I am somewhat bothered by the fact that the NCAA sanctioned this - what it might be called in its worst state - brainwashing. But then again its the NCAA - an organization that has difficulties complying with its mission and members.

sarals24

Lone Starlet
Reaction Score
I don't mind it at all. Those three were exciting, dynamic players and each was really different and unique. If it gets more people to watch the NCAA or the WNBA, I say go for it. Maya Moore was advertised continuously for two years, and you know that Breanna Stewart will get the same treatment.

EricLA

Cronus
Reaction Score