The Truth | The Boneyard

The Truth

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
First off let me say I know its skeptical that im a first time poster here, but thats up to you to believe what im going to be telling you guys.

Some back round is that I am a Rutgers grad (dont hold it against me) and this information is coming from a very close family friend who has been a booster since the 80s and 90s, may even be the first RU football booster ever lol. Not the biggest, but hes been around a long time.

Why is that important? because a lot of the information your seeing here is twitter this with new breaking news and blah blah blah, that is not how it works in this conference shuffle.

People seem to think this was some sort of Rutgers vs Uconn decision, or Rutgers vs any other school a couple years ago for the Big ten bid. That is so untrue. The real story is, in the 1990s when PSU was added to the Big ten, Rutgers was contacted by the Big and was told that we were desired for the conference, but our program was not ready. We were given a 10 year plan by the BIG, if we met those requirements , we would likely get invited in the future. The plan included investments into football, stadium, marketing, and some academic structure. Once RU did all this, it would put itself into position. Had nothing, NOTHING, to do with schiano, pernetti, 2006, bowl games, on the field improvements, winning records, etc, etc. Those things helped with the media and fan reaction, but at the end of the day, this story was being written in the 90s.

Now what happened was the realignment craze began just as Rutgers met their requirements, and Nebraska, out of the blue, fell into the big ten and took Rutgers spot at that time. Rutgers was assured they will be the next invite once they have the right partner and the rest is history.