On a somewhat related rules question, the female announcer in the Ohio State - UConn game made a comment about an offensive foul that had just been called (it might have been on Blanca). She said that the offensive player "left her feet, which allows the defense to move in front of her and establish position" (to take a charge).
I believe this is 100% incorrect. I have always heard that a defender on a drive must establish his/her position BEFORE the offensive player starts his/her shooting motion, and leaving one's feet certainly implies that the offensive player has started his/her shooting motion. So if the defender moves into position to take contact after that, the foul is on the defender -- it is a block and not a charge.
Or is this the rule only in the NBA? I've heard that explanation most often while watching NBA games. But it makes perfect sense -- an offensive player who has started a shooting motion cannot change direction to avoid a defender who moves in front of him/her, so he/she should not be called for a charging foul. Is this the rule in WCBB also?