OT: - Steak Thread Reopened | Page 6 | The Boneyard

OT: Steak Thread Reopened

Reaction Score
It's basically a cut from the round with the fat cap left on.

It's like sirloin, but is a little trendy right now. If you have a decent butcher, you can get it pretty easily.

In the U.S. it's called a culotte. My father would often bring them home from the plant when I was a kid -- in the 80's nobody wanted them. They make a very good small roast.

Curiouser
Reaction Score
In the U.S. it's called a culotte. My father would often bring them home from the plant when I was a kid -- in the 80's nobody wanted them. They make a very good small roast.
Reminds me of one of my favorite scenes from the show “Soap,” when Burt says “These aren’t pants; these are culottes.”

ColchVEGAS

Still buckin like five, deuce, four, trey.
Reaction Score
One of my good friends whom li met in frats married a Brazilian girl.
He swears by a cut of steak called picanha (pee-khan-yah). I’m a novice in steaks but I know what I like. I don’t know if it’s better than wagyu, Kobe, mignon or anything else you experts know about it but it was very tender, delicious and about $7/pound.
If you are in the Hartford area, you can get it at casa Brasíl in park road.

Picanha is nothing special in the world of steaks. My wife is Portuguese and in traveling her homeland picanha is the most popular cut of beef they have, but steaks cuts are not popular there. My father in law says the beef cuts are crap in Portugal as compared to the cuts you will typically see in an American butcher shop. That has more to do with raising cattle being expensive as compared to the more popular meats over there. Not saying it is not good just if I go to a steakhouse you will not see me order a sirloin roast. Then again I am also the one who thinks filet mignon is the most overrated cut out there. Give me a ribeye, strip, skirt, or hanger all you others can keep the near flavorless tenderloin.

ColchVEGAS

Reaction Score