Other top teams. Possible weaknesses | The Boneyard

Other top teams. Possible weaknesses

Reaction Score
For the first time in several years I am watching other games with teams that we may meet down the road. I have yet to see a team that scares me. Houston, Texas and Virginia all seem very similar to me in that they lack any kind of offensive cohesion and they rely on defense, iso and bully ball. They do play very good defense and rebound very well. Other teams do not run offense nearly as well as we do. Purdue looks very good. Something that I worry about with our team, and I said this preseason is interior defense. Alex Karaban is a very good player but can he hang in there against a team with multiple bangers? Will Sanogo stay out of foul trouble when teams begin to attack him more? If I was an opposing coach I would make him play defense. We really need to have Samson back asap to see what kind of physicality he may bring. And we need to cut down on careless turnovers, they could kill us in a close game.

Reaction Score
I am hoping that Hurley plays the long game with this team, and develops the team for March (even at the expense of the regular season).

Eg seeing what we have in Springs in case we need him down the line.

Or letting the team play thru adversity in stretches and see if they can self correct (ie don’t rescue them with a timeout).

Reaction Score
Agree, and we saw that against OK St. With Johnson down for time, I was really hoping to see Springs get some run time out there against their bigger 4's.
I wouldn't hold your breath. Whether justified or not, that Oklahoma State game was telling. Karaban was totally gassed by the end, played almost the entire game, was getting pushed around a good bit, and Springs didn't see the court. If Springs is not getting minutes with Samson out, feels like Hurley has made his decision.

HuskyHawk

The triumphant return of the Blues Brothers.
Reaction Score