OT: Recently lost my dad | The Boneyard

OT: Recently lost my dad

Reaction Score
I really can't say why I feel compelled to post this. I would like to share that I lost my father after a quick five month battle with brain cancer early last month. He was in his mid fifties and we had just been starting to get close. He worked most of the time while I was growing up and getting through college. We really started getting to know each other when I would come home on weekend visits from law school in 2010. It was when I graduated from law school in 2013, that we started watching UConn games together. I grew up a huge UConn mbb fan and I think he sort of indulged me. This was a man who never followed sports and just worked his but off. It cracked me up because he got so into it that he bought us AAC tournament tickets two years in a row. These were good seats that netted us four games in one sitting. I'll never forget him screaming and jumping when Ryan Boatright hit a three to beat Cincy on 3/14/15. It was like he had been a UConn fan his whole life. We then saw a few games here and there. I wish we saw more.

I think i'm sharing this because we all are here for news about a team we care about. We all have different connection to the team, the university, and the game. For me, it entertains me and gives me pride. It has sort of transformed now that he's gone. It's a passion of mine that now also connects me to someone I love and miss. I hope this isn't too much information for the board. Maybe it will inspire someone to take their kids to a game or spend some time with their dad. I hope it does.