"OMG that pass!"



Joined
Oct 5, 2015
Messages
2,399
Likes
3,079
Yep, no way that bucket should've counted. Maybe in the NBA you get continuation on that.
The foul was not on the player guarding KLS. It was on the player who committed a block on Dangerfield. That gave the ball back to UConn. If UConn was in the bonus then they should have gotten free throws.
 

nwhoopfan

hopeless West Coast homer
Joined
Feb 16, 2017
Messages
10,334
Likes
8,640
The foul was not on the player guarding KLS. It was on the player who committed a block on Dangerfield. That gave the ball back to UConn. If UConn was in the bonus then they should have gotten free throws.
Well there was no one near KLS so obviously she couldn't have been the player that was fouled. Did the bucket count or was it waived off? The blocking foul that Dangerfield drew was well before KLS shot, thus it should have been waived off.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2018
Messages
1,039
Likes
1,926
Well there was no one near KLS so obviously she couldn't have been the player that was fouled. Did the bucket count or was it waived off? The blocking foul that Dangerfield drew was well before KLS shot, thus it should have been waived off.
KLS's bucket counted and Dangerfield got two FTs after the bucket. The ref was right there and called it including indicating the basket should count. The guy on ESPN explained the rule that allowed for that sequence, and that it was rare, but this was a case where it was applicable.
 
Joined
Aug 30, 2011
Messages
2,147
Likes
4,151
Seriously, can someone explain why the foul was called as a block on Te’a Cooper rather than a charge on Crystal? Looking at the replay, Cooper had both feet planted at the moment of contact, and both of Cooper’s feet were outside the restricted area. I have noticed that a lot of these plays that are near but not in the restricted area get called as blocks even when they seem to be charging fouls under the rules.
 

Nick Pignatello

Npignatjr
Joined
Aug 27, 2011
Messages
74
Likes
115
Seriously, can someone explain why the foul was called as a block on Te’a Cooper rather than a charge on Crystal? Looking at the replay, Cooper had both feet planted at the moment of contact, and both of Cooper’s feet were outside the restricted area. I have noticed that a lot of these plays that are near but not in the restricted area get called as blocks even when they seem to be charging fouls under the rules.
Look again
 
Joined
Feb 22, 2016
Messages
9,881
Likes
13,788
Seriously, can someone explain why the foul was called as a block on Te’a Cooper rather than a charge on Crystal? Looking at the replay, Cooper had both feet planted at the moment of contact, and both of Cooper’s feet were outside the restricted area. I have noticed that a lot of these plays that are near but not in the restricted area get called as blocks even when they seem to be charging fouls under the rules.
On the broadcast they showed the reply from behind the basket, where you could see that she was still moving and leaning to her left when contact was made.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 28, 2016
Messages
7,004
Likes
11,882
On the broadcast they showed the reply from behind the basket, where you could see that she was still moving and leaning to hear left when contact was made.
In the beginning, the defender was definitely planted but Crystal shifted in mid air and the defender needed to shift leading to the call.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
515
Likes
701
It was indeed a block, but there is no way that basket should have counted, even in the NBA. The block occurred before the ball reached Lou’s hands. Of course, it didn’t matter; UConn was already in complete control.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2011
Messages
8,022
Likes
6,711
While Crystal's play was a Highlight pass, shouldn't the pass have gone to Christyn who was to her right and wide open for a layup? It would have been an easier pass and also easier layup for Christyn. The pass to KLS was riskier and KLS making the basket was also lower then Christyn's attempt would have been.
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2018
Messages
1,039
Likes
1,926
It was indeed a block, but there is no way that basket should have counted, even in the NBA. The block occurred before the ball reached Lou’s hands. Of course, it didn’t matter; UConn was already in complete control.
So the refs just screwed up? Even though there was one right on top of the play, and it was explained at the time why the basket counted? If you know the rules better than the refs you should work the games. Seriously. Officiating generally isn't great in WCBB, so you should offer up your services though I have no idea what the job pays.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2014
Messages
515
Likes
701
So the refs just screwed up? Even though there was one right on top of the play, and it was explained at the time why the basket counted? If you know the rules better than the refs you should work the games. Seriously. Officiating generally isn't great in WCBB, so you should offer up your services though I have no idea what the job pays.
Explained why it counted?! The refs never looked at a replay; all of us had that luxury. I’ll try to refrain from being as condescending as you were in this post. Have a nice day and stay safe during the storm.
 

oldude

bamboo lover
Joined
Nov 15, 2016
Messages
8,086
Likes
24,650
The basket did not count. At first one ref signaled that the basket was good and that Crystal was fouled after Lou’s shot. It was a definite blocking foul on Cooper. The announcers picked up on that, but the basket was eventually waved off, and Crystal ended up on the foul line. The announcers never corrected their call.
 
Joined
Nov 28, 2016
Messages
7,004
Likes
11,882
While Crystal's play was a Highlight pass, shouldn't the pass have gone to Christyn who was to her right and wide open for a layup? It would have been an easier pass and also easier layup for Christyn. The pass to KLS was riskier and KLS making the basket was also lower then Christyn's attempt would have been.
I agree in theory but she was in the moment and sensing that a great play would just raise the roof and put the nail in the coffin.

Geno's thoughts. I am fine with it (as long as it works). But I suspect that even if it did not work, he would be okay with it deep down. He understands the importance of entertainment and playing freely and not worrying about the risks and she has earned the right. :cool:
 
Joined
Nov 4, 2018
Messages
354
Likes
1,086
While Crystal's play was a Highlight pass, shouldn't the pass have gone to Christyn who was to her right and wide open for a layup? It would have been an easier pass and also easier layup for Christyn. The pass to KLS was riskier and KLS making the basket was also lower then Christyn's attempt would have been.
I don't agree. The defender was closer to Christyn, Lou's layup was uncontested. Defender was moving away from Lou. Don't see anything risky about the pass (except that apparently Crystal has eyes in the back of her head).
 
Joined
Sep 19, 2018
Messages
1,039
Likes
1,926
The basket did not count. At first one ref signaled that the basket was good and that Crystal was fouled after Lou’s shot. It was a definite blocking foul on Cooper. The announcers picked up on that, but the basket was eventually waved off, and Crystal ended up on the foul line. The announcers never corrected their call.
The score went from 66 to 69 on the play. Crystal missed one of the FTs. Someone even commented in chat that ESPN only counted the FT, and then they corrected the score and added two more points, and the man announcing the game stated the ruling on why Lou's basket would count.
 

Top