Stanford Schmamford!!?? | The Boneyard

Stanford Schmamford!!??

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
Alot (certainly not all) of the good folks on here have implied that a Stanford bid signals an automatic acceptance over a UCONN bid because of a supposedly better education. I've visited Stanford and have known intimately students who have matriculated and graduated there (not all top-level students, by the way, by ANY means).

A kid who is SERIOUS about getting an excellent education can certainly find that opportunity at UCONN (even though I've been a guest lecturer there :eek: ). Similarly, UCONN in NO way is an impediment to a fine career in numerous arenas of endeavor.....in fact, in can be one helluva boost.

I'm not sure how often someone can get the opportunity to play with the talent level AND personality level and chemistry level of " Our Girls" as constituted over the next several years....not to mention the level of coaching, which I am happy to go ahead and mention. ( Rackin up some national champ pennants is kinda appealing as well.....now THAT is something, vs. a Stanford education, which you WILL hold dear for a LIFETIME!!) Blowin smoke or makin sense?

Reaction Score
Simple fact: in most cases when the final list of schools has included Stanford and UConn, the kid has chosen Stanford.
Add in that this particular kid is from the west coast, and I consider her to be a heavy Stanford lean.

UConnCat

Wise Woman
Reaction Score
Simple fact: in most cases when the final list of schools has included Stanford and UConn, the kid has chosen Stanford.
Add in that this particular kid is from the west coast, and I consider her to be a heavy Stanford lean.

I agree, though I just started a thread noting that Stanford received commitment #4 from another guard today. Reports were that Stanford could take 4 commits from the 2013 class, which factors in Ruef not returning for a 5th year and another player being a walk-on.

U

UCONNfan1