Kara Lawson | The Boneyard

Kara Lawson

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
I'm fairly new to the boneyard. Can anyone give some background on Kara Lawson. I can see her as a coach. She seems sharp. She is competitive. Why isn't she coaching somewhere really cool? I'm sure she would be selective, but I would think she would be in demand. Who else would you guess to be the next great new coach?

EricLA

Cronus
Reaction Score
I'll take a stab...

First of all welcome to the board. Second, as for Kara - not sure how much she makes as an analyst, but it's probably more than what she could likely get in coaching. The problem with making her a HC is that she has no recruiting experience, no contacts, no AAU pipelines, etc. Granted she has name recognition, but I'm not sure she'd be successful right away.

Also it's likely she'd need to start as an asst somewhere. I don't see a high mid-major or moderate P5 school taking a chance on her as a HC with non experience when you have, say, Marissa Moseley or Shea Ralph (or a whole host of other solid assistants who have been "coaching" for years).

I'm not THAT familiar with the list of mid major coaches who have gone on and had good success at a major conference school, but places like Gonzaga, Marist, Wisconsin GB and others are great proving grounds for coaches to be really solid, hone their craft, recruit well, and garner interest from more big time programs. And for the record Kara is my favorite commentator - I like her ever so slightly better than Rebecca.

ctfjr

Life is short, ride hard
Reaction Score
I'll take a stab...

First of all welcome to the board. Second, as for Kara - not sure how much she makes as an analyst, but it's probably more than what she could likely get in coaching. The problem with making her a HC is that she has no recruiting experience, no contacts, no AAU pipelines, etc. Granted she has name recognition, but I'm not sure she'd be successful right away.