This Might be All Wet | The Boneyard

This Might be All Wet

cohenzone

Old Member
Reaction Score
I’m no expert, but a few things that have probably been brought up in other threads occurred to me as I sat in my seat on the 50 yard line on a gorgeous day.
1. Why on 2nd or 3rd and short would you ever run Mensah wide?
2. I said to my friends that they should run plays that Beaudry is good at, short passes 4-5 yards downfield., and do it on first down. Well, in the second quarter they actually heard me and it worked. They moved the ball, didn’t have to use much time to pass protect. Do it until USF proved they could stop it and it might also open the running game, which it did. And in the second half they reverted to their total Edsall predictable conservatism, wound up with a bunch of 2nd and 3rd and long and that ain’t Beaudry’s or this team’s strength.
3. Use a tight end over the middle more than once a half.
4. Randy, Bend but Don’t Break doesn’t work on a team with a very average (but better than last year) offense. The AAC is a wide open league, your D can’t stop anyone often enough and your guys aren’t going to outscore anyone but really weak teams. In fact, your defensive schemes weren’t exactly fabulous in the OBE. A little aggression on D might work. And giving tge O a bit more field time might help them to improve.
5. Not the fault of the players, they are what they are,but there are no playmakers on D who make teams avoid them. A few of the young receivers have potential.
6 Punting from just inside the 40 is surrender football, especially with our D.
7. The time out call with with a bit over 2 minutes left in the half was incomprehensible under the situation at the time. It really didn’t matter because USF would’ve still hade enough time to score even without the stoppage. Of course, they almost squeezed in a second score.