The View of a Newcomer | The Boneyard

The View of a Newcomer

Reaction Score
This is a first for me, participating in the Boneyard. I think it important to present the platform from which I view the game:
  • I have been following Uconn for 20 years. Though I have no association with the University (I’m a Stanford grad) and don’t live in CT, I was attracted to Uconn because of my obsession for Quality, which if we look around is in short supply these days. And the Uconn coaches, players and program are Quality, to this day.
  • I refer to Geno as the Lombardi of women’s basketball.
  • I played basketball at a Division III college.
  • By definition competition is a win-lose proposition. If you can’t accept loss, don’t compete. A bumper sticker says it best: “Winning isn’t everything, but losing sucks!”
  • I attend 2-3 games a year and have traveled to 2 Final Fours, one of which we won and one we lost by a buzzer-beater.
That said, a couple of comments on the current situation:

The team’s improvement between GA St and Louisville is dramatic.
In my view we lost the game because Louisville made crucial 3-pointers in the 4th Q and we did not, at least until it was too late. At the same time I remind myself that we have two of the finest outside shooters in basketball sitting on the bench, injured.

Hopefully we’ll be at full strength come March. I’m sure we’re all looking forward to that. We may not win the Championship, but I want to be along for the ride.

Last edited by a moderator:

UcMiami

How it is
Reaction Score
Great first post and welcome to being an active member of the board. I agree with all your points.

I would say the thing we are missing most at the moment is consistency from the active players on the team - they can all be great in spurts or even for a whole game, but they all can disappear for stretches or complete games. And that consistency issue shows up at both ends of the floor.