Rough Physical Play | The Boneyard

Rough Physical Play

Reaction Score
Throughout the season Geno and others have been questioning how womens basketball is morphing towards an increase in rough, physical play and whether that is a positive or a negative. It looks like womens lacrosse is going through the same thing. Here's a quote from the North Carolina coach

“We continue to ALLOW intentional fouling that is meant to disrupt, stop play, run the shot clock, and disrupt to a point that it is dangerous and unsafe to players who are NOT in EQUIPMENT,”

Here's the entire article. I like the idea of having a serious inquiry about the future of the game rather than drifting into a different type of play

Reaction Score
Women's lacrosse is intended to be a game of passing and unfettered movement of the ball. The only protective equipment typically worn is eye protection. Not that I am an expert, but my understanding is that stick checking above the level of the shoulders in a foul, as is body checking. It's not like men's lacrosse where they basically wear body armor. and helmets.

Reaction Score
I hope that college WBB does not progress to
" Intentional fouling that is meant to disrupt, stop play.... and disrupt to a
point that is dangerous and unsafe". If Division I NCAA women's basketball
spins down to this level of competition I may have to change my allegiance to
Division II or !! Division III !!. Any new rules in the offing that any
Boneyarder knows about??

Carnac

That venerable sage from the west
Reaction Score
I hope that college WBB does not progress to
" Intentional fouling that is meant to disrupt, stop play.... and disrupt to a
point that is dangerous and unsafe". If Division I NCAA women's basketball
spins down to this level of competition I may have to change my allegiance to
Division II or !! Division III !!. Any new rules in the offing that any
Boneyarder knows about??