Remembering the Field House | The Boneyard

Remembering the Field House

Reaction Score
I was struck by the way the press treated Geno in the Duquesne presser. Besides the tournament, I never see the Geno pressers in away games. The home-game pressers are dominated on the press side by the horde, folks Geno knows well.

These guys, mostly Canadians (you can tell by their accents :) ), were so respectful, almost a bit formal, treating Geno as he deserved to be treated, as the great spokesman for women's college basketball, the elder statesmen who has brought so much to the sport. And he seemed to respond, being very open and insightful.

That got me thinking to the first time I experienced UConn basketball, albeit men's. It was in the late 70's, when I was a grad student at Storrs.

Interestingly, this was just before the Big East was formed. UConn was getting good, with Corny Thompson and Mike McKay, et al. (I date myself, sigh.)

Hmm, the two things I remember the most from those games in the Field House were how hard the benches were and how close I was to the action. I can still see the flow in my mind's eye.

How far we have come with Gampel and the XL Center (called the Hartford Civic Center in my day), and so many games on national TV, etc., etc.

Any memories of the Field House or the "old" days to share?

Reaction Score
I was struck by the way the press treated Geno in the Duquesne presser. Besides the tournament, I never see the Geno pressers in away games. The home-game pressers are dominated on the press side by the horde, folks Geno knows well.

These guys, mostly Canadians (you can tell by their accents :) ), were so respectful, almost a bit formal, treating Geno as he deserved to be treated, as the great spokesman for women's college basketball, the elder statesmen who has brought so much to the sport. And he seemed to respond, being very open and insightful.