Question re Bria H's Game | The Boneyard

Question re Bria H's Game

Status
Not open for further replies.

RockyMTblue2

Don't Look Up!
Reaction Score
In the National Semi Doris Burke sorta harped on Bria being very right handed and that made her more predictable for blocking purposes. Diggins blocked 2 lay ups. I don't think the rightiness had anything to do with the blocks, but I do recall that this was a critique we heard last year too. I would be interested to hear comments of the experts among us.

msf22b

Maestro
Reaction Score
Rocky

I'm not an expert, but since there is a paucity of replies, let me take a crack.
I took another look at the blocks and they were two big time defensive plays by Skylar.
Maybe, you could have called a foul on the first, certainly not the second.

If you remember Tiff always wanted to go left, was repeatedly successful even as the announcers shook their head that people wouldn't get on to it…apparently they're still not.

Bria played a monster aggressive game the other night, hit two in a row at a key time, stole the ball, harassed the ND offense and was moving like the speed of light.

Under such circumstances, the two blocks were of little consequence.

Obviously folks like Stewie who are comfortable going to the hoop with either hand, have an advantage.
Lots of successful players, Skylar among them have a strong side.

sarals24

Lone Starlet
Reaction Score
Bria also has a tendency to hang in the air a bit before shooting her layups. In most instances, this is really effective because the defender jumps too early. But Skylar has played against her for three years and played with her last summer, and knew to time her block attempt a split second after Bria left her feet. Great plays on both, and Bria needed to go straight up and into the defender.

Oh well, we still won by 18 :)

Ozzie Nelson

RIP, Ozzie
Reaction Score