Please stop calling people “a cancer” | The Boneyard

Please stop calling people “a cancer”

Status
Not open for further replies.

temery

What?
Reaction Score
I’m tired of seeing people here refer to someone as a cancer.

Cancer is cancer, nothing else is even close. 100k people a month visit this site. Statistically, 5,000 visitors currently have cancer (5% of the US population). Add friends and family, and >20k here know what cancer does to a family.

I’m a cancer survivor, but my parents, three grandparents, an aunt, four uncles, and three cousins, weren’t as lucky. As a teacher I had a dozen students, and a couple dozen parents of students die of cancer.

It’s a horrible disease, and it’s sickening to see coaches and players refered to as “a cancer.” Most people who do so mean nothing by it, but it needs to stop.

UcMiami

How it is
Reaction Score
There are a number of these types of derogatory terms that really bother me, many 'political' so I will not go there. But thanks for pointing it out. I find out in a month if I will join you on the right side of that equation.

Reaction Score
There are a number of these types of derogatory terms that really bother me, many 'political' so I will not go there. But thanks for pointing it out. I find out in a month if I will join you on the right side of that equation.
Very best wishes, UcMiami, for an excellent prognosis. I'm a cancer survivor (so far), as I'm sure so are a lot on this board, as temery estimates.

Much as we're all very sensitive to the horrors of the disease(s) by that name and how painful it is to hear the word in a non-medical way, cancer as a metaphor is recognized as standard English usage. Among similarly inappropriate phrases, we might also say that someone has "gone nuclear." I'm sure that those who've suffered the effects of nuclear radiation (especially Japanese) don't appreciate that metaphor, which, in fact is slang and not as acceptable as cancer in standard English. Language can cause pain.