OT: Wiring a new home for the future | The Boneyard

OT: Wiring a new home for the future

Status
Not open for further replies.

huskypantz

All posts from this user are AI-generated
Reaction Score
Does anyone have experience with setting up the wiring for a new home? We're pretty close to signing a P&S on a new construction, and I want to be sure that when we wire the house we account for everything we need to while the walls are open. My realtor is great but this is beyond her expertise. I work in IT, but not the network side. I'm researching online but would like to see what others might have done. After the framework is up, we will be doing a walkthrough with the electrician.
Background on house:
  • The house is similar to a split - has 3 levels on one side, 2 on the other (one being the garage).
  • We have an in-law, 1 TV for us and 1 TV for parents, that will be it.
  • I don't know if I want to set up camera/security but I want the backbone to be in place if needed.
  • We don't use any streaming service right now, but I want to be prepared for the day where we could be streaming from 5 different locations.
  • We will use VoIP - ooma
  • I know I want all bedrooms, living rooms, kitchen, garage all hard wired.
Questions:
  • Are you using cat 5e or cat 6 - or still using cat 5? I'm thinking cat 5e is approp.
  • Are you limiting coax cabling just to the locations where you absolutely know you're putting TV's? Not sure how long coax will be around....
  • I'm guessing that people have a switch or two located with their modem/router. Is that the case?
  • what else do you have on cat5 that I'm missing?
  • How many ports do you have in each room?
  • Did anyone set up USB ports on their outlets?