OT - Watching 1990 Elite 8 vs. Duke | The Boneyard

OT - Watching 1990 Elite 8 vs. Duke

Reaction Score
Since I have a hard time getting into this year's Tournament with us not in it, I pulled up the full game tape of our 1990 Elite 8 game vs. Duke. I was too young to watch it at the time, and this is my first time watching it straight through.

I'm curious if my observations match the, ahem, older crowd's recollection:

- Despite our later reputation for playing tough man-to-man defense, our reputation at the time -- according to the announcers -- was not only our press, but our zone defense.

- The officiating was atrocious early in the first half, with 6-7 bad calls in a row going against us. The crowd and JC were going bonkers. The crowd was mostly in our favor, which would be shocking these days. It evened out a bit later in the first half, but got bad again in the second. Duke at one point had shot about 15 more free throws than we did.

- Amusingly, Toraino Walker was listed as a 6'6 center. In this day and age, he'd be listed at 6'9 regardless of how tall he actually is. He looked like a tough SOB. OTOH, Rod Sellers was a dud, aside from the block at the end of regulation.

- We took a number of bad shots -- 17-foot long 2's. In general our half-court offense was pretty bad in the first half.

- Abdelnaby killed us on the boards; we basically didn't play a center. It's actually pretty impressive how successful we were, enough to earn a 1 seed with basically a gimmick lineup and defense. It's further impressive how JC succeeded over his career with many different styles of play.

- John Gwynn was electric in the second half

- Dan Cyrulik looked like he should be a stiff, but provided some good minutes and a few key buckets when our offense was going cold

- Bobby Hurley was a whiny b****

- K looked young. JC still (always?) looked old.

- Weird that they awarded free throws for offensive fouls