OT Losses. Why? | The Boneyard

OT Losses. Why?

Reaction Score
All,

ESPN showed a graphic that we have lost 6 OT games in a row. I am relatively new to UConn basketball (less than 10 years).

Can the more experienced BYer's comment on why we keep losing in OT? This is too many in a row to be a coincidence.

Is it that we are relatively inexperienced in playing tight, end-of-game situations? Does even the great, great Geno and his staff have a weakness here?

Thoughts?

Reaction Score
Shooting from the hip, I regard this as statistically unreliable given the relatively small number of data points. After all, we are talking about completely different teams in terms of player personnel. Likewise, opponents. The only constant is part of the coaching staff-primarily Gino and CD. Maybe there is some argument to be made that there is something about the effect of team "culture" or coaching decisions that are made in overtime games. Who knows? Close games often come down to a flip of the coin. Sometimes you get tails six times in a row. Without more, that doesn't tell us that the coin is loaded.

Reaction Score
Thank you. Chances of 6 heads (or tails) in a row for a fair coin is less than 2%. This makes me wonder.

Let me be clear -- in no way am I trying to criticize anyone, least of all Geno. I am just trying to understand.

oldude

bamboo lover
Reaction Score
I do think there is something to the fact that UConn plays very few games that come down to the last few possessions, and OT games by their very nature, require a team to play possession by possession.

I would contrast UConn with TN that has won and lost many close games over the past few seasons, including wins this year over both national finalists.

UcMiami

How it is
Reaction Score