OT FiOS or Xfinity? | The Boneyard

OT FiOS or Xfinity?

HuskyHawk

The triumphant return of the Blues Brothers.
Reaction Score
My two year lock in to FiOS has expired. I'm a free agent. My setup is that I have phone, the top cable tv plan, 75Mbs internet, a multi-room DVR and two additional HD boxes. My bill, with discounts from work, is a ridiculous $200 or so. I'd like to bump internet to the 150 Mbs plan.

Comcast seems to be cheaper, in part because I can buy my own cable modem/router. They also charge less for the box and DVR rentals. The 400 Mbs internet plan, top tv package, still comes in well under Fios from what I can see. But the router/modem is around $350. I could rent the gateway for $11. Even including that, it's still running what seems to be almost $100 a month less.

Am I missing something here? Anybody making these decisions lately?

dennismenace

ONE MORE CAST
Reaction Score
My two year lock in to FiOS has expired. I'm a free agent. My setup is that I have phone, the top cable tv plan, 75Mbs internet, a multi-room DVR and two additional HD boxes. My bill, with discounts from work, is a ridiculous $200 or so. I'd like to bump internet to the 150 Mbs plan.

Comcast seems to be cheaper, in part because I can buy my own cable modem/router. They also charge less for the box and DVR rentals. The 400 Mbs internet plan, top tv package, still comes in well under Fios from what I can see. But the router/modem is around $350. I could rent the gateway for $11. Even including that, it's still running what seems to be almost $100 a month less.

Not sure what your employer discount is but that seems about right to me. It is pretty much what I just got though one step lower on tv package (No HBO) but includes NETFLIX, main box plus two others all with HD and DVR's, highest (400) speed internet, phone and most importantly gteed price for two years but can leave anytime without penalty. Entire bill $229 month.