OT: coaching softball | The Boneyard

OT: coaching softball

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
Anyone on the BY ever coach softball? Primarily high school level softball? I'm a teacher and I was just asked by my athletic director to coach JV softball and I said I would consider it. Any advice? I watch baseball occasionally but I don't really have a clue how to coach baseball/softball.

Reaction Score
Anyone on the BY ever coach softball? Primarily high school level softball? I'm a teacher and I was just asked by my athletic director to coach JV softball and I said I would consider it. Any advice? I watch baseball occasionally but I don't really have a clue how to coach baseball/softball.
Did you check women's board? Pretty sure some coaches frequent it.

Reaction Score
I can't offer real advice, since the highest level I ever coached was like 12 year olds, but I would say go scour Youtube.

Reaction Score

My buddy coached Windsor HS for years when they were perennial State champ players and never left for baseball despite this being his stepping stone. He played in HS, at Qunnipiac held records in the 70's and then twilight leagues everywhere. Loved it and pretty much was a better coach than most because of his baseball background and his ability to teach the game. It's the same as baseball except the intricacies of small ball and shorter base paths. If you didn't play or understand the game I'm not sure how much fun it would be but it is only JV's so who knows.

Reaction Score
DUDE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Let me know if your looking for a 3rd Base Coach

Reaction Score
I've coached little league and travel for awhile. It's easy just coach it like baseball and learn how to defend the bunt really well. I love it and you'd be surprised how hard the girls play. You're aren't going to know anything about pitching so I would find a college or high school grad who will help you with that. Good Luck its a great game

Reaction Score