OT: backyard chickens | The Boneyard

OT: backyard chickens

Curiouser
Reaction Score
anyone else here raise back yard chickens? I'm a newb this spring and my chicks are just about ready to live in the coop. Post your flock!
My best friends did for around ten years and we loved the fresh eggs, but they just stopped this year because they got tired of fighting the bears. They live in Litchfield fwiw.

Reaction Score
My best friends did for around ten years and we loved the fresh eggs, but they just stopped this year because they got tired of fighting the bears. They live in Litchfield fwiw.

I know it wasn't supposed to be, but I got a pretty good chuckle out of that. Also, you earn the like for the picture. Where did you get that from?

Reaction Score
Rhode Island reds are the bread I recommend. Chicken are great for fertilizing your yard and garden if you let them roam.

Don't get a rooster

Curiouser
Reaction Score
Also, you earn the like for the picture. Where did you get that from?
I found it online, but it's a pie from Bufalina. Possibly on their website--can't remember.

Curiouser
Reaction Score
Make a reservation cause you won't get in. Chances are they are fully booked for tonight anyway
If it's just a one or two-top and you call them early in the afternoon when they come in to make the dough they can often be flexible and try to squeeze you in. And in a few weeks they should have their outdoor seating area open, which is first come, first served at picnic tables that parties have been known to share.

intlzncster

i fart in your general direction
Reaction Score
Having chickens is a PITA but having a close friend or neighbor with chickens is great.

I was going to say the same thing, but I would have added "down the street". All that cluck-cluck-clucking sucks. No peace and quiet.

Fishy

Elite Premium Poster
Reaction Score
IMG_0403.jpg

TRest

Horrible
Reaction Score