Invest more in offense or pay buyout to Diaco? | The Boneyard

Invest more in offense or pay buyout to Diaco?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
I'm beginning to think that is the question. Should we invest in hiring some good offensive coaches at salaries much higher than we pay now or pay $3.5 to $5 million for Diaco to walk and still have to pay up for a new coaching staff?

If we are going to keep Diaco, he needs help in 2 areas, offense and head coaching/game day awareness.

Diaco has been a decent DC over his career and I think he can handle the defense. What he needs, besides more game day awareness, is offensive coaching talent. We have been hiring offensive coaches on the cheap and it shows. Invest in a proven OC, QB coach, and OL coach. Let the OC choose the QB and OL coaches.

To improve Diaco's abilities as a head coach, I think we should hire a retired successful head coach as associate head coach to mentor him. A guy like Mack Brown, Dennis Frachione, Frank Beamer, Houston Nutt, Tom O'Brien, Ralph Freidgen,... If Diaco is failing miserably early season, the associate head coach becomes interim head coach while we evaluate the new OC to see if he is capable of becoming head coach.

Reaction Score
None of those guys you listed would be interested in that type of role. Not really sure who would...

Reaction Score
Only invest $ in new coordinators if you're targeting one as a potential HC hire.
Our assistant coach pay is mid to low AAC. How do you think a guy like Verducci, with no experience as an OC, gets hired? Because that is what we can afford. We need to pay $500k to $600k for an OC, not the $300k that Verducci makes.

Reaction Score
Our assistant coach pay is mid to low AAC. How do you think a guy like Verducci, with no experience as an OC, gets hired? Because that is what we can afford. We need to pay $500k to $600k for an OC, not the $300k that Verducci makes.