Herbst Blasts Proposal To Turn UConn Into "Entrepreneurship University" | Page 3 | The Boneyard

Herbst Blasts Proposal To Turn UConn Into "Entrepreneurship University"

CL82

NCAA Men’s Basketball National Champions - Again!
Reaction Score
I was a guest lecturer at an entrepreneurial college seminar. Start ups fail at high rate in part because people assume that what they do now will scale up. It might but you need to think about that. They often lack an understanding about choice of entity and the impact that that will have on them. Operating Agreements are often non-existent or at best pro forma. That's a huge problem. All of that is information that they should get from their attorneys and accountants, but often do not. It makes a big difference in the success or failure of a start up. UConn could have a series addressing this in its business school.

That said, if CT needs a votech program, UConn probably not the place for it.

cohenzone

Old Member
Reaction Score
Seems silly to even ask this question given your Paterno thread, but have you spent any time in State College?

While State College is a joke to the us urban sophisticates in Pittsburgh and probably Philly, for being in the middle of nowhere, there are some pretty solid bars, restaurants and other businesses with a downtown area that's a hella more developed than anything surrounding UConn's campus.

Culturally, everyone in Centre County knows they owe whatever living they have to PSU. PSU gets what it wants, even post-Sandusky, and everyone gets out of their way as PSU development = the only good jobs and prosperity in Central PA.

Thinking about this, UConn should've build it's football palace on a hill close to campus so everyone in the surrounding area could be reminded daily of who's the boss in that part of the state. You can't drive down I-99 without seeing how imposing Beaver Stadium is.