Guesses on tickets sales drop... | The Boneyard

Guesses on tickets sales drop...

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
Hello all Uconn Fans from Men's Basketball Team!
I am a grad student from Uconn very much interested in why we have less people going to the men's games than we had in 2004 (from more than 13.000 to about 10.000 on average for the home games only).
I have my guess, but I thought that the fans might have an interesting point of view about that! Would you like to share it?
Ah, this is not a research!

willie99

Loving life & enjoying the ride, despite the bumps
Reaction Score
level of competition has diminished and rivalries have been lost

we've also been suffering through an extended period of economic malaise, especially in the great State of Connecticut

Reaction Score
Not really sure what other answers besides the conference and the fact that most of the teams in recent years haven't been as dominant as in the 90's/early 2000's even despite the 2 recent championships.

formerlurker

www.stjude.org
Reaction Score
Not research but you have a post on the Football board asking people if they'll wear some sort of device during games next year? For research?!

UCweCONN

Former Poster
Reaction Score
Tulane, East Carolina, Central Florida, South Florida doesn't have the same buzz as Villanova, Georgetown, Providence and Seton Hall.

Reaction Score
There's probably a pretty good correlation between conference win percentage over a lagging period of time and attendance. Throw out sold out games (or extrapolate demand), account for venue, pre-season rankings, current rankings, weather, inflation-adjusted prices, ticket distribution method, and you probably have the basis for a pretty good predictive model.

Reaction Score
Because they don't have the best hot dog,seafood,hamburger,pizza,donuts,bagels, you get the picture

Reaction Score