Freshman stars at UConn | The Boneyard

Freshman stars at UConn

Reaction Score
All,

I am a relative newbie to women's basketball, having started to watch when Maya was a junior. (I am not a newbie to UConn, having finished graduate work there in 1982. :rolleyes:)

I have never seen a freshman look as good as CW. (By the Final Four in 2013, Stewie was the best player in the country, but that is a different matter. She struggled early, e.g., Penn State and Duke games.)

I heard tell that Maya was terrific as a freshman.

Has a UConn frosh looked anything like what CW looks like right now? (I know Bria Hartley beat Baylor, but that was one game.)

Thank you.

HuskyNan

You Know Who
Reaction Score
The Usual Suspects - Diana, Maya, and Stewie - were tremendous as freshmen. Stewie started out like a house on fire, then had a bit of a lull, but then picked it up later in the season to claim Final Four MVP. So, yes, I'd say she had a tremendous freshman year.

Kelly Faris was her excellent self right out of the box, too. I'd give Bria Hartley the nod as well.

JoePgh

Cranky pants and wise acre
Reaction Score
The Usual Suspects - Diana, Maya, and Stewie - were tremendous as freshmen. Stewie started out like a house on fire, then had a bit of a lull, but then picked it up later in the season to claim Final Four MVP. So, yes, I'd say she had a tremendous freshman year.

Kelly Faris was her excellent self right out of the box, too. I'd give Bria Hartley the nod as well.
Not to mention Kia Nurse, Renee Montgomery, Caroline Doty, and Katie Lou Samuelson, all of whom had large roles as freshmen and played major minutes. Stef Dolson also, although she had to grow into her role as the season progressed.

Reaction Score
All,

I am a relative newbie to women's basketball, having started to watch when Maya was a junior. (I am not a newbie to UConn, having finished graduate work there in 1982. :rolleyes:)