Explain to me why we didn’t bring in another point guard??? | Page 4 | The Boneyard

Explain to me why we didn’t bring in another point guard???

Reaction Score
We clearly need a player who can dribble the ball well against the press. Why didn’t Hurley get a transfer who could help to beat the press. Was Hurley under the impression that Gaffney can dribble well? We don’t look like a top 25 team based on these last two games. We can’t shoot well and can’t dribble well. I’m not an expert but I think you need to do both of those well in order to be a good team. I’m other news, Hawkins needs 28 minutes a game and Gaffney needs to play less.
I'd suspect the reason DH didn't bring in transfers is the same reason no one left. He seems very loyal to his players and they apparently return the sentiment. The seniors stuck with him and he's standing by them through thick and thin.

Reaction Score
Castle just started his junior year in high school, I doubt he would be much help.
Agreed and I have caught up on a lot of Castle film lately and at this point I think he's more of a combo guard than a true point. I think to run the point/bring the ball up / break presses he is going to have to be a great passer and to learn to crouch more when dribbling because I haven't seen those skills out of him at this point; though that is possibly more a function that he doesn't have to against the competition he is facing.

Reaction Score
People are quick to forget Gaffney was the only person trying to win against Maryland.

I don’t think it’s that ridiculous to say Gaffney will figure it out here soon and start contributing in a big way. A lot of the team struggled in the Bahamas. Gaffney will solidify being #2 in everyone’s minds going into BE play, book it…
Actually, he's already #2 in the minds of many here.

pj

Reaction Score