Couldn't be more proud of this team... | The Boneyard

Couldn't be more proud of this team...

EricLA

Cronus
Reaction Score
I'm not going to spend any time on this thread admonishing folks who have been overly critical of this team this season - whether the team as a whole, or individual players.

Instead, I wanted to talk about how proud I am of this team. I graduated in 1987 from UCONN and have followed the team ever since Geno became the HC. In all my years of following UCONN, and WCBB by association, I have NEVER seen a team have to endure as many challenges as this team has this season. I am sure I may miss one or two but...
  • Paige injured
  • Nika wasn't fully healthy and had to rest until she was 100%
  • It seems Azzi may have had a nagging injury since at least her time with Team USA
  • Caroline injured
  • Dorka injured
  • Olivia injured
  • Piath had an injury early in the season
  • Christyn out with Covid protocols
  • Amari was out with Covid protocols and "other issues"
  • Mir transferred
  • Saylor transferred
  • Geno was sick and missed a game
Evina Westbrook and Aaliyah Edwards are the ONLY 2 players who were available and who played in all 22 games so far this season. And while both of them have been coming on strong of late, early on, most of us wondered what the heck happened to them as they were playing "less than" they were last season. Additionally, this is the first season with Shea gone being replaced by Morgan. Add to that all the Covid stops and starts, game postponement, etc.

Most of the games we lost were immediately following the removal of a starter (or more) from the lineup for one reason or another. Some of the games were played AFTER multiple team practices leading up to the game only to have the player in question scratched just before the game.