OT: - Cooking School/Learning to Cook | The Boneyard

OT: Cooking School/Learning to Cook

Reaction Score
Hi,

My wife and I are getting a new range that has multiple burners and ovens, I do most of the cooking and I'm a basic cook- spaghetti, baked chicken, nothing gourmet. Are there cooking schools that someone can go to & learn the basics of good cooking? I'd like to go for a week and really get trained in cooking techniques, trimming meats, how to handle fish in different ways, making sauces for vegetables, baking tips, & probably other things that I don't even know but are what really good cooks do routinely.
Has anyone ever gone to cooking school or know of any? Thanks!

Reaction Score
Maybe YouTube would have something?

the only cooking schools I know of are part of colleges that offer culinary arts majors or schools to train professional chefs.

Argonaut

No, not that Providence.
Reaction Score
Are you close to a Whole Foods? I know that mine does loads of different one night cooking classes that are really fun.

I also know that Johnson and Wales University‘s campus here in Charlotte does cooking classes through their culinary arts department that aren’t part of a degree program. If you’re in CT, maybe the Providence campus has something similar?

CL82

NCAA Men’s Basketball National Champions - Again!
Reaction Score
Hi,

My wife and I are getting a new range that has multiple burners and ovens, I do most of the cooking and I'm a basic cook- spaghetti, baked chicken, nothing gourmet. Are there cooking schools that someone can go to & learn the basics of good cooking? I'd like to go for a week and really get trained in cooking techniques, trimming meats, how to handle fish in different ways, making sauces for vegetables, baking tips, & probably other things that I don't even know but are what really good cooks do routinely.