OT - Connecticut Lacrosse | The Boneyard

OT - Connecticut Lacrosse

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
Is there a reason why UConn doesn't have a D1 Lacrosse Program yet? Title 9? I'm relatively new to the sport but it's crazy how many good High School programs there are in Connecticut. I just looked up the HS top 25 and CT has 4 programs, New Canaan (3rd) , Brunswick (14), Taft (16), and Darien (18). I'm sure Staples, Ridgefield, Greenwich, Wilton, aren't too far behind.

Seems like we would dominate this sport too if we went D1.

Stainmaster

Occasionally Constructive
Reaction Score
My guess is that even if we had a program, kids from those schools would continue to go to Ivies/Little Ivies/service academies/established blue-blood lacrosse programs instead.

Reaction Score
The Under Armour rankings has Darien 5th and New Canaan 6th nationally. The two played this past weekend in front a few 1o00 people and Darien won 10-7. 6 of the top 10 teams from the state play in the FCIAC. I would say on avg, 3-5 kids in those towns go to major D1 programs a year.

FfldCntyFan

Texas: Property of UConn Men's Basketball program
Reaction Score
This is absolutely a financial issue due to Title IX ramifications. The additional scholarships (including the requisite additional women's scholarships) are beyond what we can currently handle given our conference situation.

shizzle787

King Shizzle DCCLXXXVII of the Cesspool
Reaction Score
It's too expensive.

Reaction Score
Is there a reason why UConn doesn't have a D1 Lacrosse Program yet? Title 9? I'm relatively new to the sport but it's crazy how many good High School programs there are in Connecticut. I just looked up the HS top 25 and CT has 4 programs, New Canaan (3rd) , Brunswick (14), Taft (16), and Darien (18). I'm sure Staples, Ridgefield, Greenwich, Wilton, aren't too far behind.

Seems like we would dominate this sport too if we went D1.

OT- UConn Lacrosse --- Same Answers - 4 years later??