Calling all Rules Experts - Flagrant 1 | Page 2 | The Boneyard

Calling all Rules Experts - Flagrant 1

Status
Not open for further replies.
Doty decked Bria Smith. Geno thought there was no contact, Walz asked the refs to take a second look and they did and assessed the flagrant 1. It was a case of Doty swinging her elbows to make space, and I believe that was the year refs started making a point of calling the flagrant if you swung your elbows and made contact above the shoulders. I don't think Doty was trying to knock anyone down in the opening minutes of that game when the score was 7-5 or something like that. Compare that to the flagrant given to Vails or Reed with about 7 minutes left in the game when she hooked Stef by the neck and slammed her to the ground. That was the payback, I guess with a little frustration of being down 30 mixed in, and I thought could have been a flagrant 2 since it looked intentional to me.
Decked????? That is pushing it.... She was swinging her elbows trying to make space. It was contact..... but it was a bad call...
 
Rule 10-1.14

Art. 14. Illegal contact caused by the swinging of the elbow(s) that:

a. Results from total body movement is a common or flagrant 1 personal foul.
b. Is excessive per Rule 4-19.7 is a flagrant 2 foul.
c. Occurs above or below the shoulders of an opponent is a common, [ or ] flagrant 1 or flagrant 2 personal foul.

Not sure what your reference to "1.1, 1.4 and 1.5" meant...? No argument from me that it was at least a foul (illegal contact) when she got clocked in the throat. Question is whether it was a flagrant, which hinges on "excessive" in the ref's judgment for the most part.


In your notation, 1.1 would be Rule 10-1.1 etc. And, somehow, I managed to miss the "common or" phrase in all my readings of the Article 14. :^(
 
In your notation, 1.1 would be Rule 10-1.1 etc. And, somehow, I managed to miss the "common or" phrase in all my readings of the Article 14. :^(

No worries - I get a little too 'lawyerly' sometimes; I apologize if it came across as anything other than a purely objective back-and-forth
 
Didn't think the hit to chong merited a flagrant as it looked like it was the follow through of a shot attempt. On the other hand the gabby forearm-elbow to the throat should have been a flagrant one as it was a careless blow whether intentional or not to the throat area. Hard to believe that play which happened at the foul line was missed by all 3 officials supposedly watching play. My guess is geno with less than 2 minutes left didn't want to antagonize a game that was over and his seeing gabby staying in the game might have been a factor in that.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Online statistics

Members online
244
Guests online
2,137
Total visitors
2,381

Forum statistics

Threads
164,076
Messages
4,381,229
Members
10,177
Latest member
silver fox


.
..
Top Bottom