Bleacher Report interview of Jewell Loyd | The Boneyard

Bleacher Report interview of Jewell Loyd

UConnCat

Wise Woman
Reaction Score
Very revealing comments by Jewell and certainly explains her early departure from Notre Dame. There's so much more going on with these student-athletes than we'll ever know.

EDIT: for some reason I can not post the link to this article (Q&A).

Loyd: Being an athlete, you're supposed to be tough. If I'm a fan, I don't want to see you at your worst. But people forget we're just as human as everyone else. Looking back at my journey at Notre Dame, my friends know me as a person who's super friendly and joking around. But in school, I just would sit in a room, totally isolated. I never felt like I connected to anyone. I obviously joke around about it now, but I had basically the three worst things you could have going to Notre Dame: I was a black student-athlete, I had a learning disability, and I was never in class.

At the time, I didn't really realize I was going through anything. I didn't want to talk to anyone because I didn't feel like anyone knew me. If I would have said something, maybe my objective for leaving would have been different. Now I go back to Notre Dame, and it's not that I totally hate it, but I feel that anxiety and depression again every time I'm on that campus. I don't think about us going to Final Fours.

Last edited:
Reaction Score
as you can imagine this interview has been the subject of much consternation on the ND boards...............really the only bad news in an otherwise perfect WBB post season..................I'm unsure if it will have any impact on the team's aggressive recruiting efforts......

RockyMTblue2

Don't Look Up!
Reaction Score
That's a pretty big elephant lumbering around ... huh!

EricLA

Cronus
Reaction Score
I can't believe more isn't made of this - feeling out of place as a black athlete at ND is a HUGE deal. Being told to do unhealthy things just to be able to play is a HUGE deal.