Azzi Fudd--in person | The Boneyard

Azzi Fudd--in person

MilfordHusky

Voice of Reason
Reaction Score
I drove out to St. John's College High School at the edge of D.C. to watch Azzi and her team play against Elizabeth Seton, a decent local squad. To say I was impressed would be a gross understatement.

I should preface this by saying that I'm no expert (as many of you know). I saw 2 of Maya's Collins Hill games (against nationally ranked teams that included Tiffany Hayes and Khadijah Russian) on DVD, Charde's team, Kaleena's team (ironically, also against Seton), De'Janae's team, and 3 high school All-American games (Bria's year, Saniya's year, and Meg's year). So, while I haven't seen many games, I have seen some good teams and great players.

Some stats to start: St. John's won by about 88-60. Azzi missed a few minutes in the second quarter because of foul trouble--a perfect fit for UConn. She sat out the last 4 minutes or so, because her team was up 34. I think she played about 24 minutes of the 32-minute game. These may not be exact, but here's my tally: 10-13 inside the arc, 5-7 from the arc, and 4-4 from the line. (Her FTs didn't touch the rim.) That's 39 points, 22 in the first half. She had 20 points in the first 10 minutes.

A few plays:

On one fast break, she outran the defender, took a pass in stride, and made the layup.

On defense, she stood around, didn't box out, gave up an offensive rebound and put-back. (She's not perfect.)

She made a nice 2-handed tip of a pass on defense that led to a steal a la Gabby (with less elevation).

Azzi made a sick crossover dribble and layup that had the people sitting near me gasping.

She made a very nice lob pass to Dikembe Mutombo's niece for a score.

On one contested fast break, she dished to a teammate who was fairly well defended but was probably better off shooting it herself, using her size. I thought it showed that she was unselfish.