Any refs here? Got a question | The Boneyard

Any refs here? Got a question

HuskyNan

You Know Who
Joined
Aug 15, 2011
Messages
27,843
Reaction Score
239,813
I’m watching the UConn men play Marquette. The Marquette players drive the paint, see 7’2” Donovan Clingan guarding the hoop, then change direction. But, they slide on one foot before putting the other foot down. I always thought that was a travel but Marquette’s slid 3 times without a call. Am I wrong?
 
I’m watching the UConn men play Marquette. The Marquette players drive the paint, see 7’2” Donovan Clingan guarding the hoop, then change direction. But, they slide on one foot before putting the other foot down. I always thought that was a travel but Marquette’s slid 3 times without a call. Am I wrong?
If one foot doesn't move, then that's the pivot foot. Not a travel. On second thought...I gotta see this. Not getting the picture.
 
If one foot doesn't move, then that's the pivot foot. Not a travel. On second thought...I gotta see this. Not getting the picture.
Sorry for being unclear - the Marquette player is running toward the basket with a normal stride. As he tries to turn away from the basket, the foot on the court slides. Then the other foot hits the court, so the Marquette kid is sliding with one foot on the court.
 
It sounds like either a Euro Step or a travel, but we know a high percentage of technical travels (and carries...) don't get called.
 
Sorry for being unclear - the Marquette player is running toward the basket with a normal stride. As he tries to turn away from the basket, the foot on the court slides. Then the other foot hits the court, so the Marquette kid is sliding with one foot on the court.
Unless they changed the rule that is a travel.
 
Sorry for being unclear - the Marquette player is running toward the basket with a normal stride. As he tries to turn away from the basket, the foot on the court slides. Then the other foot hits the court, so the Marquette kid is sliding with one foot on the court.
Heck, today's players palm the ball the entire trip down court and seem to get an extra step toward the hoop. I'm not surprised if refs today see this as a variation off the eurostep.
 
Sorry for being unclear - the Marquette player is running toward the basket with a normal stride. As he tries to turn away from the basket, the foot on the court slides. Then the other foot hits the court, so the Marquette kid is sliding with one foot on the court.
It's not you. Just one of those things I can't picture. When sliding was the player still dribbling?
 
That's what I thought. But, I need to see it. I'm hesitant because it happened more than once and they didn't call a travel.
The refs just let a Marquette kid take about 5 steps - really. It was at least 5. Adama Sonogo, meanwhile, has been called for 4 travels. The men’s game refs are as inconsistent as the women’s.
 
I’m watching the UConn men play Marquette. The Marquette players drive the paint, see 7’2” Donovan Clingan guarding the hoop, then change direction. But, they slide on one foot before putting the other foot down. I always thought that was a travel but Marquette’s slid 3 times without a call. Am I wrong?
Note where they’re playing.
 
Sorry for being unclear - the Marquette player is running toward the basket with a normal stride. As he tries to turn away from the basket, the foot on the court slides. Then the other foot hits the court, so the Marquette kid is sliding with one foot on the court.
Noticed a lot of sliding on both sides. They need to fix these hockey arenas for basketball before someone really gets hurt.
 
NBA rules? It’s only a travel if the whole world agrees that at least 14 steps were taken without dribbling the basketball ?
 
In all the rules I have ever read, that is a travel. You can not slide the pivot foot.
True, but first foot down is not necessarily the pivot foot. Feet don't have to hit the ground at the same time (virtually impossible anyway). After both feet are on the ground, then you can pivot off either foot (and that becomes the pivot foot).
 
True, but first foot down is not necessarily the pivot foot. Feet don't have to hit the ground at the same time (virtually impossible anyway). After both feet are on the ground, then you can pivot off either foot (and that becomes the pivot foot).
Art. 4. A player who catches the ball while moving or ends a dribble may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows: a. When both feet are off the playing court and the player lands:

1. Simultaneously on both feet, either may be the pivot foot;

2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch shall be the pivot foot;

3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both, in which case neither foot can be the pivot foot. b. When one foot is on the playing court: 1. That foot shall be the pivot foot when the other foot touches in a step; 2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both, in which case neither foot can then be the pivot foot
 
Art. 4. A player who catches the ball while moving or ends a dribble may stop and establish a pivot foot as follows: a. When both feet are off the playing court and the player lands:

1. Simultaneously on both feet, either may be the pivot foot;

2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch shall be the pivot foot;

3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both, in which case neither foot can be the pivot foot. b. When one foot is on the playing court: 1. That foot shall be the pivot foot when the other foot touches in a step; 2. The player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both, in which case neither foot can then be the pivot foot
Not the way it works. Or else you couldn't do a layup.
 
Not the way it works. Or else you couldn't do a layup.
Well it is the way it works as those are the rules. As Article 5 explains:

Art. 5. After coming to a stop and establishing the pivot foot: a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the playing court, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal;

Which is why you can do a layup. Article 5 is also the rule that mix people up when they are confused by the so called 'Euro step"
 
Well it is the way it works as those are the rules. As Article 5 explains:

Art. 5. After coming to a stop and establishing the pivot foot: a. The pivot foot may be lifted, but not returned to the playing court, before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal;

Which is why you can do a layup. Article 5 is also the rule that mix people up when they are confused by the so called 'Euro step"
Wrong. You might need to watch a bit more basketball.

NOT the way it works.
 
I saw the play and initially thought travel. Watching the replay it was clear to me that a “pivot foot” was not established. It is a fine line. Once the player established his footing there wasn’t a travel.
 
In all the rules I have ever read, that is a travel. You can not slide the pivot foot.
Yep, but it’s unclear to me from what Nan posted that a pivot foot was established.
 

Online statistics

Members online
229
Guests online
2,387
Total visitors
2,616

Forum statistics

Threads
164,185
Messages
4,386,495
Members
10,196
Latest member
ArtTheFan


.
..
Top Bottom