A few observations from Columbia | The Boneyard

A few observations from Columbia

Reaction Score
What a great place to go for a game. My wife and I were met with nothing but cordiality as we wandered around before and durring the game. Granted, after the game as we left, cordial turned more into trying to ignore us, but that's OK.

1. If they're calling it a sell-out, USC bought a bunch of tickets. The lower level was full or very nearly full but the corners in the upper deck were pretty empty. I'm not a pro but I'd estimate at least 1,000 ghosts in those sold out GA seats.
2. Really nice and walkable downtown. A huge assortment of options for food, though not much that we found in the way of interesting shops to kill time. Be careful walking, drivers seem to love to run red lights.
3. Really, really nice arena. One panel in the central scoreboard was out but not a big deal. My only objection, and it's a small one, is that the ceiling is so low. Seated halfway up in the upper ring, we couldn't see across and saw only the back of any hanging banners. (Not that we needed that. Banners for winning the ACC or getting to the Elite 8 are not a big deal.)

If you're touring the south and planning to hit Charleston and/or Savannah, try to add a day for Columbia (more if you plan to visit the zoo) and maybe even a day for Greenville (skip the zoo here).

Reaction Score
What a great place to go for a game. My wife and I were met with nothing but cordiality as we wandered around before and durring the game. Granted, after the game as we left, cordial turned more into trying to ignore us, but that's OK.

1. If they're calling it a sell-out, USC bought a bunch of tickets. The lower level was full or very nearly full but the corners in the upper deck were pretty empty. I'm not a pro but I'd estimate at least 1,000 ghosts in those sold out GA seats.