ESPN Article on Man Child Drummond | The Boneyard

ESPN Article on Man Child Drummond

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction Score
bump, great write up. Haberstroh is not only a great stats guy to read, he's a CT native.

Reaction Score
I hate the argument that he isn't a good defensive player. Just because he doesn't block shots like Deandre, Whiteside and Gobert doesnt mean he isn't. He finished top 5 in defensive rating and defensive win shares.

Reaction Score
When I was a student at Uconn in 2012, I was waiting to play pickup ball in the gym. Drummond was playing on the court I was waiting for and he had one of the most athletic plays I've ever seen up close.

I was waiting under the hoop, out of bounds on the baseline. Somebody tossed him an attempted ally-oop pass. It was a terrible pass and about a mile away from the hoop. I'm waiting for Andre to just come down with it and put in a layup.

Out of nowhere, he jumps from outside the paint (from the side) with ease....grabs the ball like a tennis ball...throws it down with one hand and shakes the whole hoop!!!

It was the most impressive combination of athleticism/power/gracefulness I had ever seen up close. That really gave me a true understanding of how freak of an athletes some of this guys are :eek:

Chin Diesel

Power of Love
Reaction Score
The two areas of the article that lend themselves to Andre's long term health were his symmetry and his core. Having near equal agility keeps his muscle groups balanced and reduces the risk of overusing one side and compensating on the other and keeping his mass over his core maximizes the distribution of force. No guarantee he stays injury free but as the one person in the article states, he has a great chassis.

Reaction Score
I hate the argument that he isn't a good defensive player. Just because he doesn't block shots like Deandre, Whiteside and Gobert doesnt mean he isn't. He finished top 5 in defensive rating and defensive win shares.