“Something special” with this years team | The Boneyard

“Something special” with this years team

Carnac

That venerable sage from the west
Reaction Score
I’ve been drinking THAT kool-aid for the last 3 months. Based on coaches' interviews, player interviews, and beat writers/media articles, I’m convinced.

I commented back in late April that this could be by far the best team Geno has had since the Breanna Stewart era. The depth and talent of this team make them extraordinarily formidable.

A veteran-laden starting 5 led by a healthy Paige Bueckers, Azzi Fudd, and Aaliyah Edwards, will be a nightmare for opponents this season. Turnovers won’t be a problem this year for UConn. :cool:

Reaction Score
On the turnover question, Geno has long taught an assist driven game, and that hasn’t always meant a lot of turnovers. Some of the problem was over ambitious passing last season. But Nika’s a/to ratio was too good to account for the problem. We also had some fumbles among the bigs, especially early on. And Azzi had a lot of turnovers early on, even as she was dominating those games. I also think the turbulence in the lineup and lack of practice time had an impact, especially when it brought inexperienced ball handlers into difficult situations.

This coming season I am really looking forward to seeing a much crisper passing team. They’ll have more ball handlers, more practice time, and more confidence just because Paige will be playing. If you know your teammate is a bucket-getter, there’s less pressure on each pass.

Reaction Score
After the last two seasons, I am very skeptical about our future. Injuries have adjusted UConn's prospects. With all of the new talent and the return of the Paige and Azzi combo as healthy, all I can do at this point is hope that the HEALTH of this team will be at a AAA status all season long and until they cut down the nets at the Final Four championship game.

Reaction Score