Wolf's Flagrant | Page 2 | The Boneyard
.

Wolf's Flagrant

Status
Not open for further replies.
Refs got it right. You can argue whether what Wolfe did should be a reviewable, flagrant foul, but under the rules it is.

isn't that what I said?
 
isn't that what I said?
He couldn't understand it because it wasn't legalese. You needed the first party speaking to the second party speaking to the.....
 
In each case, you are arguing about what the rules should be rather than what they are.

BS quit watching the womens game...THAT was a rebound in every matter of what you teach a guy PERIOD.....anything else you try to say is completely wrong. He had all the right to bring the ball, his arms and his elbows up to get the ball high......anyone who thinks they got it right never played the game against people who slap, reach, pull......awful call by a bunch of refs who never saw the court in their lives besides with those shirts on!! It was his space and he deserves that space.....
 
He moved his arms completely vertical, Sampson was behind him and made contact with his elbow. If the the rule is any elbow contact with the head is a flagrant then someone could just go out there and headbutt people's elbows. Dumb rule.
 
He moved his arms completely vertical, Sampson was behind him and made contact with his elbow. If the the rule is any elbow contact with the head is a flagrant then someone could just go out there and headbutt people's elbows. Dumb rule.

Right but it NOT a rule it was the 3 morons portrayal of the rule and they got it completely wrong.....there is not another crew who would have changed that call I promise....they may say so now to protect and support their guys but these guys blew this one in a huge way!!
 
In a Washington Post article discussing this issue from a couple years back with John Adams, the NCAA coordinator of basketball officiating it was said to be a foul "If a ballhandler is swinging his elbows as part of a full-body movement and at the same speed as the rest of his body at the time of contact, an intentional foul is to be assessed, giving the opponent two free throws and possession of the ball." In 2011 the terminology was changed to Flagrant 1 for this type of foul with the ruling stating "An example of a Flagrant 1 foul would be a player who swings an elbow and makes non-excessive contact with an opponent above the shoulders. The team whose player was struck would receive two free throws and possession of the ball." Wolfe did not swing his arms at all just brought them up. It did not meet the criteria of a Flagrant 1 foul which is the weaker of the two types of Flagrant fouls.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.

Online statistics

Members online
58
Guests online
2,296
Total visitors
2,354

Forum statistics

Threads
164,498
Messages
4,399,035
Members
10,212
Latest member
MurrDog


.
..
Top Bottom