Change Ad Consent
Do not sell my data
Reply to thread | The Boneyard
Menu
Forums
New posts
Search forums
What's new
New posts
Latest activity
Chat
UConn Men's Basketball
UConn Women's Basketball
UConn Football
Media
The Uconn Blog
Verbal Commits
This is UConn Country
Field of 68
CT Scoreboard Podcasts
A Dime Back
Sliders and Curveballs Podcast
Storrs Central
Men's Basketball
News
Roster
Schedule
Standings
Women's Basketball
News
Roster
Schedule
Standings
Football
News
Roster
Depth Chart
Schedule
Football Recruiting
Offers
Commits
Donate
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
New posts
Search forums
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Forums
UConn Athletics
UConn Women's Basketball Forum
What was the correct ruling on the flagrant?
.
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
[QUOTE="stamfordhusky, post: 2136742, member: 649"] It can be a "violation" if the elbows are swung in a dangerous manner without making contact. Section 13. Elbow(s) Art. 1. It is a violation when a player excessively swings her arm(s) or elbow(s), even without contacting an opponent. . . . PENALTY (Section 13): . . . The ball is awarded to the opponent at the out-of-bounds spot nearest to where the violation occurred. As for a Flagrant 2, this is the definition: Flagrant 2 personal foul. A flagrant 2 personal foul is a personal foul that involves contact with an opponent that is not only excessive, but also severe or extreme while the ball is live. There is some additional mention of elbows/flagrants in the "Fouls and Penalties" section of the Rules, specifically saying the following is a foul: Art. 14. Illegal contact caused by the swinging of the elbow(s) that: a. Results from total body movement is a common or flagrant 1 personal foul. b. Is excessive per Rule 4-19.7 is a flagrant 2 foul. c. Occurs above or below the shoulders of an opponent is a common, flagrant 1 or flagrant 2 personal foul. Art. 15. Illegal contact with an elbow that does not involve the swinging of the elbow shall be considered a foul. Note that the rule that used to distinguish between contact above and below the shoulders was changed a few years ago to theoretically make it the same when it comes to flagrants. [/QUOTE]
Verification
First name of men's bb coach
Post reply
Forum statistics
Threads
164,582
Messages
4,402,112
Members
10,216
Latest member
illini2013
.
..
Forums
UConn Athletics
UConn Women's Basketball Forum
What was the correct ruling on the flagrant?
This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
Accept
Learn more…
Top
Bottom