WBB Announcing | The Boneyard

WBB Announcing

Reaction Score
I’ve been poking around here for a few years with occasional comments, this is my first thread. While in general sports announcing is not exactly the pinnacle of journalistic achievement, I contend that oral WBB coverage is exceptionally abysmal. Allow me to count the ways…

Firstly, I acknowledge that it was not that long ago WBB was not even available for viewing. The opportunity to watch a myriad of collegiate and professional games is unprecedented and I cherish it. Secondly, while many will likely disagree, I must also concede that I fully support the social and political issues that are being intertwined with sports, and is not a focus of my rant. Having said that, in general, WBB coverage has driven me to a remote musical accompaniment in lieu of the broadcast oratory as it does not deliver what I want.

When I watch a game I am seeking real-time play-by-play and details regarding fouls, subs, and frankly, not much else; delivered in a knowledgeable manner in an even pitch. I know that is too mellow for the masses, such that I expect some hype. But c’mon! I yearn for immediate explanations to what I’m watching, not player bio’s better suited to the Hallmark Channel. I have that in my cable package if I want it. I hear repeatedly that the broadcast must relate to a casual viewer, such that completely action-focused presentations will turn-off this segment. I say BS. I contend it is an unsupported example of trying to cater to the masses at the expense of the more hardcore fan. I hear the same for other athletic endeavors, notably Olympic sports. I can relate that I had the opportunity to watch the Rio Olympics on television while in Italy, and while there was a bit of “up close and personal” drivel, for the most part it was all sports, all nations, all participants, all the time, and it was wonderful. NBC should be ashamed.