UConn men’s basketball players learn important life lessons | The Boneyard

UConn men’s basketball players learn important life lessons

Mazhude

"Bark, Bark!"
Reaction Score
Mike Anthony: UConn men’s basketball players learn important life lessons from Chris Herren and Maurice Clarett

“We’re building something,” Hurley said. “We’re trying to build a mindset. Going into year two, rebuilding an historic program that has more championships than anyone the past 20 years, you lose if your organization isn’t strong enough in a variety of ways. It’s just having a program, trying to put together a talented team every year, trying to build a strong organization with the right type of approach to personal development. I’m a high school coach by nature. I didn’t come up in the college game. I feel like that’s a huge part of my responsibility with these guys.”

Reaction Score
I think the article does a nice job laying out the fact that, basically, it is all about winning but you can, at the same time, take care of the young men in your program and set them up for more than their four years with you. Dan spent nine years at St. Benedict’s, and the mission and purpose of that school has stuck with him. Father Edwin Leahy is a special person, and everyone’s better off after meeting and knowing him.

Waquoit

Mr. Positive
Reaction Score
I suppose it can't hurt but all this stuff is basically happyhorsesh**. I doubt it moves the needle at all.

CL82

NCAA Men’s Basketball National Champions - Again!
Reaction Score
I suppose it can't hurt but all this stuff is basically happyhorsesh**. I doubt it moves the needle at all.
Disagree. It's basically saying you guys are more than hired hands I care about you as individuals, Over time it builds culture. I like Hurley's approach.

krinklecut

Class of '11
Reaction Score