Change Ad Consent
Do not sell my data
Reply to thread | The Boneyard
Menu
Forums
New posts
Search forums
What's new
New posts
Latest activity
Chat
UConn Men's Basketball
UConn Women's Basketball
UConn Football
Media
The Uconn Blog
Verbal Commits
This is UConn Country
Field of 68
CT Scoreboard Podcasts
A Dime Back
Sliders and Curveballs Podcast
Storrs Central
Men's Basketball
News
Roster
Schedule
Standings
Women's Basketball
News
Roster
Schedule
Standings
Football
News
Roster
Depth Chart
Schedule
Football Recruiting
Offers
Commits
Donate
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
New posts
Search forums
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Forums
UConn Athletics
UConn Women's Basketball Forum
TN Game: Two Questions For BB Rules Lawyers
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
[QUOTE="JoePgh, post: 4191790, member: 1131"] There were a couple of plays in the Tennessee game that caused some discussion of referee's calls over on VolNation. Since they both seem to be more about rules interpretation than judgment calls about what happened on the court, I thought I might pose those questions here. [LIST=1] [*]When Evina entered the game and made her first three from right wing, Aaliyah was already in motion towards the basket and was making contact with an LV player who seemed to be trying to come out and challenge Evina's shot. You could interpret this as a moving screen that should have been called (as VN posters did), or just as normal pick-and-roll action, or as an attempt by Aaliyah to position herself for a rebound of Evina's shot. How is a referee supposed to distinguish these two cases? Does Aaliyah need to remain stationary until Evina releases her shot, or can she be moving towards the basket beforehand? [*]When TN was on offense near the end of the first half, a TN player (either Horston or Burrell) drove into Aaliyah on the side of the lane and was called for a charge. However, it [B]appeared[/B] that Aaliyah had left her feet and was in the air at the instant of contact. I don't think any viewer could tell if Aaliyah had really left her feet at that instant, but the motion of her upper body made it appear that way. How does the block/charge rule apply to this case? If a defender has established defensive position but then leaps vertically before the ball handler makes contact, does this mean that her defensive position is no longer established and a block should be called (as VN posters argued)? Or is the defender entitled to the vertical space above where she was standing? [/LIST] [/QUOTE]
Verification
First name of men's bb coach
Post reply
Forum statistics
Threads
164,444
Messages
4,396,576
Members
10,209
Latest member
gemini*trvl
.
..
Forums
UConn Athletics
UConn Women's Basketball Forum
TN Game: Two Questions For BB Rules Lawyers
This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
Accept
Learn more…
Top
Bottom